I HAVE PLAYED THE FOOL

I have played the fool,

As Solomon did of’ old.

Instead of’ trusting God,

I wanted silver and gold.

I have played the fool,

Wisdom was my first demand.

However, this is not all,

To keeping God’s every command.

I have played the fool,

Material things I have craved.

I was deceived, but I learned,

All these things cannot save.

I have played the fool,

Wealth became as a greed.

Fear of public opinion,

Became my very creed.

I have played the fool,

For many women I did go.

But from the very beginning,

God said, “It was not so.”

So my beloved friends,

In this poem, you’re told,

Do not play the fool,

As did Solomon of o1d.

Bill Graddy

Leave a Reply

